Geez I guess it’s been a while…

Turkey Burgers, fist attempt

So, don’t ask me why, but the other day I got a craving for turkey burgers. Now, let me give you a little bit of background. I don’t do regular (beef) burgers any more, and honestly, I never thought turkey burgers were worthy of much praise. They always seemed to be bland, strange-colored, poor-substitute versions of regular burgers. Certainly not something I would order at a restaurant, let alone crave. Well, a couple of years ago, some friends and I went to visit our friend Steve’s parents out in central Pennsylvania. We got to his parents’ house, and his mom had prepared dinner for us. She presented us with a plate of just-grilled turkey burgers. I remember thinking, “Great.. I’ll just eat half of this to be polite”, but upon first bite I realized that I had been so, so, mistaken. These turkey burgers were delicious! In fact, I liked them better than any beef burger I had ever had. I hounded Steve’s mom for the recipe, and although she was very gracious and offered to email it to me, I foolishly never followed through. Now it’s been about two years, and I think it would be a little strange to call up Steve’s mom, who I have not seen since then, and ask her for her turkey burger recipe. Don’t you? Besides, I am a bit of a rogue in the kitchen and can not resist a chance to experiment, even if I really have no idea what I’m doing, and I’ll tell you this: I am a bit less than experienced with meat.

Annnnyyyway… So I had this craving for turkey burgers. It would NOT go away. I tried to lure M into making them with me (I need a companion around when I cook with meat, I’m a little intimidated!) on Friday night, but it just did not happen. We were too hungry and just went to chinatown for a quick malaysian meal which, in retrospect, was not a bad idea at all. So Saturday rolled around and I still wanted those damn turkey burgers! Well, to make a long story short, we made them. I guess that’s that. They were awesome! Of course, M and I are both wannabe gourmandes and can not stop at one dish, so we had to make a full lunch banquet (yes, just for the two of us, I know).

Our menu, french style. Can you tell we think we're funny?

This is EXACTLY what it looked like when we cooked lunch

As you can see from the “menu” above, we had:

-Pan-roasted asparagus with lemon and parmesan

-Turkey burgers

-M’s potato salad (without mayonnaise.. yes!)

and… as if that wasn’t enough already

-Nigella Lawson’s Chocolate Ginger Bread (although admittedly, we were pretty full and only ate a few bites)

Well, let me tell you, this was all very good! It was also pretty impressive. M is into Iron Chef and gave us only an hour to make all of this, starting the moment we walked in the door. I have a very small kitchen and a mini oven, so this was quite the challenge. I’m proud to say, we did it! And I am known to be a notoriously slow cooker. Not bad!

I would like to post recipes for this stuff, but we made it up and don’t really remember the proportions. If you’d like the recipe for Nigella’s Chocolate Ginger Bread (yes, you would like this recipe), it’s in her book, Feast. Enjoy!

One Response to “Geez I guess it’s been a while…”

  1. Brijesh Kumar Says:

    Keep it up sharing informative blog.

    Zip Repair

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

