Perfect (insert anything here) cake: Daring Baker’s March Challenge

My first Daring Baker’s challenge, completed!!! March’s challenge, chosen by Morven from Food Art and Random Thoughts, was Dorie Greenspan‘s Perfect Party Cake. It is from Dorie’s book: Baking From My Home to Yours, which I don’t have but will probably get soon now that I’ve made this cake. (Also because everyone seems to be raving about it!)

Styled shot: the cake at it’s sexiest

The cake has four layers of moist, lemon scented layers that are dense enough to satisfy a serious cake eater but light enough to be appropriate in a layer cake (only one stick of butter is used in the cake recipe). Dorie suggests using raspberry jam and lemon curd between the layers, which I think would be delicious, but I strayed a little and used grapefruit curd and strawberry jam instead. I also made kind of a mousse out of ricotta and fresh whipped cream and put that between the layers as well to give the cake a bit more height and deliciousness.

cooling

The result was interesting (in a wonderful way). Because of the ricotta, the cake tasted subtly Italian, although no one could really figure out why until I told them about the ricotta. The grapefruit curd had a similar effect. Although no one could identify grapefruit as one of the ingredients, the cake was a bit softer in flavor than I think it would have been had I used lemon. I was really happy with the result and would definitely make this cake again. I’m also looking forward to trying different flavor combinations. Check out what all the other Daring Bakers did with this challenge here!

On the Easter table

Tags: , ,

27 Responses to “Perfect (insert anything here) cake: Daring Baker’s March Challenge”

  1. Kate Says:

    Your ricotta mousse sounds yummy! What a great idea!

  2. Karen Says:

    Oooo, grapefruit card and strawberry jam, inspired! Lovely cake and pictures.

  3. Sarah Says:

    Fantastic photography!

  4. Robin Says:

    Adorable decoration on your cake! Your photos are gorgeous!

  5. Lesley Says:

    Wow, ricotta mousse and grapefruit! That’s as daring baker as they get! Your colors are so pretty too.

  6. Fran Z Says:

    Your cake looks delish. Welcome to DB, fellow newbie!

  7. kimberleyblue Says:

    Grapefruit curd – that must be wonderful, I should make some of that.

    Your cake looks awesome!

  8. cait Says:

    Hey everyone, thanks so much for the compliments! This blog is pretty new so I still get really excited when anyone leaves a comment :) The grapefruit curd was excellent. Subtler than lemon curd, but still really delicious and almost mysterious tasting. The ricotta mousse was also great. It was kind of a last minute idea. My dad (who’s Italian) loves ricotta cheesecake and I was going to make it for him, but we had too many desserts already so I though I’d just try to incorporate a little bit of ricotta into this cake to satiate him. It worked!

  9. mimi Says:

    welcome to the db! your first challenge looks so delish! i love the idea about using the ricotta mousse.

  10. Teresa Says:

    Ricotta mousse¡????? Wow great idea¡¡¡¡

    I have to do it like yours the next time.

    Congratulations for your cake, and for your blog¡¡¡

    TERESA

  11. Shelby Says:

    I love the changes you made to your cake! Just the fact that you said it has “Italian” flavor makes me want to make it your way! Great photographs…I love the “sexy” look! Congrats on a job well done!

  12. Shelby Says:

    P.S. I love your blog and am bookmarking it so I can check on it regularly!

    Shelby aka HoneyB

  13. sara Says:

    Sounds fantastic!! And looks beautiful!

  14. Amber Says:

    What a beautiful looking cake! Congratulations on your first successful DB challenge. To the next one we go.

  15. stacie Says:

    Looking at all these cakes is starting to make me crave a piece! Too bad mine is history. That ricotta frosting sounds yummy…is there a recipe you used, if so could I get it? Beautiful cake!

  16. Jennifer Says:

    Your cake is just PERFECT! Great job. I love the additional matching M&M’s!!! :)

  17. Nan Says:

    The grapefruit curd sounds pretty awesome :) I love that your pictures are quite original!

  18. Nan Says:

    The grapefruit curd sounds pretty awesome :) I love that your pictures are quite original!

  19. Luki Says:

    what a great idea to use ricotta mouse!!! Love the outside of the box thinking!

  20. maria~ Says:

    Gosh, such a delicious combination of flavors and pretty colors! Love your creativity!

  21. Dolores Says:

    Grapefruit curd and ricotta mousse… I *like* it. Congratulations on your first DB challenge, and welcome to the madness!

  22. Danielle Says:

    Wow, what creative flavor combos.

  23. Claire Says:

    Your cake is just beautiful! I love the decoration.

  24. Gabi Says:

    Nice flavour combo! Lovely cake- the colors are a sign of Spring!
    xoxo
    Gabi

  25. Gretchen Noelle Says:

    You had me at grapefruit curd. That sounds delicious! And then to add a ricotta mousse. Wow! You really went over the top! Great job on your first Daring Baker Challenge!

  26. Patti Says:

    Wow, your cake looks fabulous. It was my first challenge, too . . . I loved every minute of it.

    Again, your cake is BEAUTIFUL.

  27. BC Says:

    Grapefruit never crossed my mind.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

