I’m back, with Cheesecake!

cheesecake truffles

Please forgive me, I’ve been bad.  Well, not so much bad as busy.  I did a lot of rushing around and baking this week in order to prepare for a vendor fair.  It was in NY, near my parents’ house, and I was asked to come bearing baked goods and business cards.  Well, it turned out to be a bit of a production.  I made all the knockouts: about a million cheesecake truffles (pictured above), lots and lots of Melt-in-your-mouth Chocolate Cake (thank you Clotilde!), and a bunch of mini blackberry buckles (I’m sure you’ll see that recipe in an upcoming post). 

Today I want to talk about the cheesecake truffles.  These were inspired by last month’s Daring Bakers challenge, cheesecake lollipops.  I wanted to make them again, this time using real vanilla bean (last time I just used extract), but I also wanted to class them up for this event.  The lollipops were cute, don’t get me wrong, but I was looking for something a bit more sophisticated.  I used the exact same recipe and just let these little guys harden up on a baking sheet.  As soon as they solidified, I popped them into these mini cupcake papers. 

Let me tell you, if you’re looking for a show stopper, this is the one.  It’s hard to find someone who doesn’t like cheesecake, and even people who are “watching their weight” can’t really justify passing up one of these.  After all, as decacdent as they are, they’re tiny!  I made mine about walnut sized, and it was perfect.  

Cheesecake Truffles

Also, just as a note… last time I made these, I used dark chocolate as coating, and in my opinion, it was too strong against the delicate flavor of the cheesecake.  This time around I opted for coating some with milk chocolate, and some with summer coating (kind of white chocolate, i guess), and I LOVED the results.

 

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “I’m back, with Cheesecake!”

  1. Sandicita Says:

    Love the idea of cheesecake truffles! My pops kept loosing their sticks as soon as they thawed, so making them bite-size truffles is genius! I may copy you in the future. Are the purple ones a different flavor?

  2. Bakerette Says:

    so adorable! Great job…

  3. Mrs Ergül Says:

    What a nice cupcake case!! I can’t get fanciful ones here in Singapore at all.

  4. dcnewbie Says:

    These look fantastic! I just discovered your blog and love it! One of the unexpected benefits of being a Daring Baker is finding all these great new blogs!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

