Blueberries on the Ceiling

I want to propose something a little different…

//servicemasterbybouck.com/db3/00209/servicemasterbybouck.com/_uimages/dr_person_assessing_kitchen_fire_damage.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

Blueberries on the Ceiling: Hiliarious Stories of Kitchen Mishaps

This is my second attempt at a food blogging event (I tried “Make Martha Cringe” a while back but only got one entry! boo hoo…) and I think this one might be a little bit easier to participate in.

“Blueberries on the Ceiling” is your chance to write about your most disatrous (and hopefully hilarious) kitchen mishap. As someone who cooks a lot, I love telling kitchen horror stories and then hearing what went wrong in other kitchens as well. It makes us all feel more human, dontcha think? I mean, no one’s perfect, and as far as I’m concerned, if we’re going to be making mistakes, we should take the opportunity to laugh at them! Did you set the top of a crisp on fire and then dump a gallon of water into your broiler to put it out? Maybe you accidentally dumped an entire cup and a half of sea salt into an otherwise perfect mushroom pasta minutes before company arrived. Oh wait, that was me…. ehhhh… Anyway, I’m sure you’ve done something similarly ridiculous, so fess up!

Here’s how you participate:

  1. Write a short story about something hilarious and disastrous that happened in your kitchen. The length of the post doesn’t matter, but see if you can include a somewhat relevant picture so people have something colorful to look at while reading your post.
  2. Post your story between now and Sunday, June 15, and please include a link back to this post so that other people can read about the event!
  3. Send me the link to your post so that I can compile a list of all the entries and pick a winner!  You can either put the the link in the comments, or email me at caitlin DOT Larussa AT gmail DOT com.

EDIT:  There will be a prize!!!  The person who submits the story of the most ridiculous and hilarious kitchen disaster will win one of my favorite books about a certain someone’s adventures in many kitchens.  So send in those stories!

16 Responses to “Blueberries on the Ceiling”

  1. How Your Kitchen Mistakes Can Equal Prizes « Adventures in Shaw Says:

    [...] discovered a new food blog called Food Nerd tonight through another food forum. The site is hosting a contest called Blueberries on the Ceiling, [...]

  2. dcnewbie Says:

    I wrote up an entire blog post about my recent disaster with my very first Daring Baker’s challenge. I tried to copy and paste the entry into the comments section, but I keep getting an error. So I will paste the link to the blog entry here! This is a great contest and I posted an entry about it on my blog.

    http://adventuresinshaw.wordpress.com/2008/05/28/lessons-learned-while-making-an-opera-cake/

  3. dcnewbie Says:

    I wrote up an entire blog post about my recent disaster with my very first Daring Baker’s challenge. I tried to copy and paste the entry into the comments section, but I keep getting an error. So I will paste the link to the blog entry here! This is a great contest and I posted an entry about it on my blog.

    http://adventuresinshaw.wordpress.com/2008/05/28/lessons-learned-while-making-an-opera-cake/

  4. Jackie Says:

    Cool contest! Here is my link….

    http://jac0610.blogspot.com/2008/06/hilarious-story-of-kitchen-mishap.html

  5. Deeba Says:

    Hi, just wrote about my macaroon disaster as part of the following post…I love the idea about your event! All the best…

    http://passionateaboutbaking.blogspot.com/2008/06/amazing-maize-corny-cookies.html

    Cheers Deeba

  6. cait Says:

    Hey everyone, thank you so much for participating! These stories are awesome. Keep spreading the word.. I can’t wait to hear more!

  7. Playful Professional Says:

    Just wrote a post about this contest and linked back to two of my worst food disasters this year. Thanks for the contest and chance to win!!

  8. Ronnica Says:

    Fun contest. I heard about it through Britni (Playful Professional). I just had to play along!

    http://taleofakansasgirl.blogspot.com/2008/06/want-to-borrow-my-cookie-recipe.html

  9. Maninas Says:

    Hi! Can I submit old posts? More than one?

    Here’s how not to make lemon tart: http://maninas.wordpress.com/2007/11/04/learn-from-my-mistakes/

    And how to grill a food processor:

    http://maninas.wordpress.com/2007/05/30/what-are-you-kitchen-mishapsmisadventuresmini-catastrophes/
    :D

  10. Blueberries on the ceiling? « Maninas: Food Matters Says:

    [...] it like a pancake! Anyhow, Cait at Food Nerd is organising a blogging event of the above title: Blueberries on the Ceiling. Instead of recipes, we’re featuring kitchen [...]

  11. Maninas Says:

    If yes, here’s a link with a write up mentioning this blog event: http://maninas.wordpress.com/2008/06/03/blueberries-on-the-ceiling/

  12. kelly Says:

    These stories are so entertaining. Here’s my contribution. I made sure to add a link to your blog…bring on the stories!

    http://citymousecountrymouse.blogspot.com/2008/06/kitchen-mishap.html

  13. cathy x. Says:

    hello hello! here’s mine too! :)

    http://xxcadavrexx.blogspot.com/2008/06/its-been-few-days-down-track-now-and-im.html

  14. Smita Says:

    This is a great idea – can’t wait for the round-up! My best disaster story is at: http://smitaservesyouright.blogspot.com/2006/11/weekend-of-disasters.html. May I use it for this event? I’d be happy to link it to the event. Thanks!

    Smita

  15. And the winner is… « Says:

    [...] post of course refers to my contest from a couple of weeks ago: Blueberries on The Ceiling.  I asked you all to tell the stories of your most hilarious kitchen mishaps, and you delivered!  [...]

  16. blog-x-Amatrice.Eu Says:

    I like what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the superb works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

