Contest! Top Tens: Food-Related Memories (Extended!)

toptenslogo

Top Tens is a new (and hopefully, monthly) event that gives you the chance to share your top tens in a new category each month. I love talking about food, thinking about food, and reminiscing about food, and I’m willing to bet most of you do to.

The first Top Tens will be “Top Ten Food-Related Memories”. I can’t wait to hear yours. To get you started, here are mine, in no particular order:

1. In pre-school, standing on tippie toes on a footstool so I could help my grandma make cornbread.

2. Being taught how to “spit cherry pits like a lady” by my friend’s mom on a family vacation to Florence, Italy.

3. Taping fake cooking shows with my friend Christina Harris in elementary school.

4. Getting back at my pesky little brother by tricking him into eating super-spicy trick gum and then feeling really, really bad about it when he cried.

5. Eating my first oyster at a street stand on Arthur Ave in the Bronx and getting cheered on by fellow oyster eaters (oh man do I love New York).

6. In college, going on a date with a new guy, both getting food poisoning, and then laughing about it adjacent bathroom stalls while getting sick. Gross, I know, but hilarious in hindsight.

7. Going completely overboard and cooking way way way too much with my mom every Thanksgiving.

8. Testing every gelato spot in Florence (you know, for research purposes)

9. In my college apartment, trying to “crisp up” the top of an apple crisp in the broiler and then, smelling smoke, opening the broiler drawer to find that the apple crisp was completely in flames, and then, in a panic, closing it back up. (My boyfriend came to the rescue and doused the whole thing with a bucket of water).

10. In Italy, being taught to make gnocchi by my nonna.

Here’s how it works:

1. Create your list of top ten food-related memories. All you need is the list, but if you’ve got a picture that, in any way, corresponds, all the better. Post about it on your blog from now till Sunday May 24, 2009.

2. You must provide a link to the Top Tens post on my blog.

3. Once you’ve posted your list, please email me with your entry. All posts must be emailed to caitlin[dot]larussa[at]gmail[dot]com by midnight (eastern standard time) on Wednesday, May 27. In your email, please:

  • Write “Top Tens” in your subject line
  • Include your name and where you are from
  • Provide your blog’s URL and a link to your entry on your blog

4. I’ll be posting the entries as they come in, and shortly after the 27th,  a winner will be selected randomly from all the entries. The winner will receive a small surprise, picked out by me!

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Contest! Top Tens: Food-Related Memories (Extended!)”

  1. audrey Says:

    that is QUITE a first day. i’d think the oyster on arthur ave would be the culprit but i guess not?
    this contest rocks and i’ll send my entry soon!

  2. audrey Says:

    ^ i meant to write “that was quite a first DATE”
    and i sent in my entry!

  3. Top ten Food-related memories « One Of A Grind Says:

    [...] May 21, 2009 I love IMBB – another interesting Food Blogger event. This one is hosted by Caitlin at Food Nerd  [...]

  4. Lauren’s Top Tens « Food*Nerd Says:

    [...] another list of top ten food-related memories from Lauren, who’s got a new blog, Superfine Spot. Go check it out! Here are her memories, [...]

  5. One of a Grind’s Top Tens « Food*Nerd Says:

    [...] of a Grind’s Top Tens By cait Here’s another wonderful list of top ten food-related memories from TC at One of a Grind. I love envisioning the “dal” in number 3. I had so many [...]

  6. litte bit of beauty for sunday « Food*Nerd Says:

    [...] and Wednesday is the last day of my event!  So get thos entries [...]

  7. Gel’s Kitchen Blog » Blog Archive » My Ten Fondest Food Memories Says:

    [...] every now and then. My inspiration for this post comes from Caitlin of Food Nerd who is hosting Top Ten Food-Related Memories this month. It’s a lovely idea and I think you would enjoy heading on over to her blog and [...]

  8. Sloped step flashing on skylight? Says:

    […] Originally Posted by Matt Fellman I can't remember what I had for lunch today…. I surely can't remember this from 4 years ago It's funny…. I started reading this thread and looking at the pictures and had to laugh when I realized I started the thread. The lawsuit was settled 2 years ago and I haven't thought much about it since then Sorry Matt. I misread the date as 4 months ago. Been some time sense visiting Inspection News MB. I will get the hang of it. Best regards. Robert PS: Food to help with loss of memory. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

