Too good not to share: Maple-Oat Thumbprint Cookies

I can’t keep these a secret any longer. These are some of the simplest and most delicious cookies I’ve ever made. They are everyday cookies, for sure. There’s nothing decadent about them. But who wants decadent all the time? Most of the time I just a little satisfying bite that’ll pick me up. These cookies do that, and in addition, they can be thrown together in three minutes flat, they have no white flour or refined sugar, and they fill the kitchen with the warmest, most comforting aroma while they bake. Oh and everyone loves them. These guys are just about perfect.

I have no idea why it’s taken me so long to post about these cookies. But here goes. Don’t wait to make these, there’s just no reason to deny yourself.

Also, I’ve submitted these cookies to CLICK, a photography event hosted by Jugalbandi.  The May theme is Cookies.  Go check it out here.

Ingredients
makes about 30 small cookies

-1 cup almonds (roasted or raw), or 1/2 cup almonds, 1/2 cup walnuts
-1 cup rolled oats
-1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
-pinch sea salt
-1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
-1/2 cup safflower or olive oil
-1/2 cup maple syrup
-1 banana

-zest of half a lemon


Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly oil a cookie sheet.
  2. In a food processor, chop nuts and half the oats into coarse meal.
  3. In a large bowl, combine nuts, oats, flour, salt, and cinnamon. Add the lemon zest and mix.
    Add the oil and maple syrup to the dry ingredients. Mix lightly.
  4. Roll into walnut-sized balls. Place on an oiled cookie sheet. Press an indentation in the center with thumb.
    Press a slice (or a chunk, depending on size of cookies) of banana into each indentation.
  5. Bake 15-20 minutes, or until bottoms are lightly browned. Cool 10 minutes.
7 Responses to “Too good not to share: Maple-Oat Thumbprint Cookies”

  1. Sara Bartholomew Says:

    I am fairly new to the blog world and have recently started my own Food Blog. I came across your site while playing around and just love you entries! You are a wonderful photographer and your recipes are so interesting. I enjoy your blog so much, I added a link to your page from my own. I can’t wait to try these cookies :)

    PS- I also live in the Philly area. I look forward to hearing about your adventures around town!

  2. cait Says:

    Thanks Sara! I just checked out your blog, it looks great! I’ll have to do some philly posts, thanks for inspiring me :)

  3. audrey Says:

    i might have to give these a go! what other ideas would go well in the middle besides the banana?

  4. cait Says:

    Jam is really good… I used to make them with raspberry or blueberry jam, I just didn’t have any one time and used banana and ended up liking it a lot.

  5. bee Says:

    thanks for participating. that’s such a yummy cookie!

  6. audrey Says:

    ALL DONE! they’re yummy-ful. thanks so much for posting this recipe.
    http://superfinespot.blogspot.com/2009/05/effortless-maple-oat-cookies.html

  7. CLICK: Cookies. The winners are … | jugalbandi Says:

    [...] me against the light… @ inlovewithfood Cookies @ prasukitchen Maple-Oat Thumbprint Cookies @ Food*Nerd Oatmeal Raisin Cookies @ Toxo Bread Pistachio-Saffron Cookies @ Jai – Jugalbandi (Host) Pandan roll [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

