oatmeal for breakfast.. or lunch, or dinner?

Oatmeal!

Well, I’ll just go ahead and say it. I love oatmeal. Looooove. I’m eating it right now. Really. There is something about oatmeal that is so satisfying. It’s hearty, warm, savory (or a little bit sweet, if you like that), and there are so so many ways to enjoy it. Right now I’m having mine with apples, cinnamon, and a little bit of tofutti better than cream cheese. It’s kind of like an oatmealy apple pie an a bowl.

So is it dorky to have oatmeal cravings? Maybe so, but I just can’t deny that, yes, my little heart starts to flutter at just the thought of it. I think this may have something to do with my grandpa. He is actually the original oatmeal aficionado. When I was younger, my grandparents would babysit my brother and me, and they would always give us oatmeal for breakfast. My grandpa always made it the same way: kind of on the gluey side, raisins and milk. To this day that is still my favorite way to have it. As a matter of fact, I was over at my grandparents’ house just the other day and I was kind of hungry… My grandpa made me, well, you guessed it, oatmeal. Amazing.

Leave a Reply

