Red Velvet Cupcakes, and one step closer to the perfect chocolate chip cookie…

Red Velvet Cupcakes!

This week I had a bunch of orders for Cakes for a Cure. I made three Melt-in-your-mouth Chocolate Cakes (thanks Clotilde!), 8 batches of cookies (chocolate chip and oatmeal raisin), and one order of Red Velvet Cupcakes, which I was pretty excited about! The cupcakes ended up coming out delicious, and so so cute. The cookies, I’m proud to say, are very very close to what I consider to be absolute perfection in chocolate chip cookies. I like a thicker cookie, generously studded with chips, crisp and a little knobbly on the outside, but soft and ooey gooey in the middle. I want that one middle bite that almost tastes like cookie dough. And of course, there must be lingering but delicate hints of butter and vanilla. Ooooh.

So up until now, my main issues have been texture and height. There is a time and a place for a thin crispy cookie; I will admit that I have had a few thin, crispy chocolate cookies that were, admittedly, delicious, but those were exceptions. I like a cookie that I can really sink my teeth into. So, you’ll understand how disappointed I’ve been each time I put a batch of perfect-tasting chocolate chip cookie dough into the oven only to find, nine minutes later, a pan of dry, greasy, melted-looking chocolate chip pancakes. I don’t know why it took me so long to do some research on cookie chemistry, but I am infinitely glad that I finally did.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

